Duo Glide Electra


The ignition system has two circuits, the primary circuit and the secondary circuit. The primary circuit consists of the battery, switch, primary coil, breaker points, condenser and associated wiring. The secondary circuit consists of the secondary coil, the spark plugs and associated wiring. The circuit breaker has two functions. First, the breaker cam and contact points open and close the low tension circuit between the battery and ignition coil causing the coil to produce high voltage discharge to the spark plugs. Second, the circuit breaker times discharge for proper engine firing. The following three types of circuit breakers are in use:

SINGLE CONTACT POINT CIRCUIT BREAKER WITH MANUAL ADVANCE (Fig. 5F-1). The breaker points are operated by a cam with a narrow and wide lobe. The narrow lobe times the front cylinder and the wide lobe times the rear cylinder. A single ignition coil fires both spark plugs at the same time, but one spark occurs in the exhaust stroke of one cylinder and the other spark fires the combustible gases in the other cylinder to produce the power stroke. Timing is advanced or retarded by manual rotation of circuit breaker base in relation to cam.

0 0

Post a comment